ACC announces new football scheduling model

Atlantic Coast Conference logo (Source: Facebook)
Atlantic Coast Conference logo (Source: Facebook)
Published: Jun. 28, 2022 at 1:20 PM EDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

GREENSBORO, NC (WDBJ/ACC Release) – A new college football scheduling model will go into effect beginning with the 2023 season, according to the Atlantic Coast Conference.

The new model is based on a 3-5-5 structure, according to ACC, in which each team will play three primary opponents annually and face the other ten league teams twice during the four-year cycle, once at home and once on the road. The schedule allows for each team to face all 13 conference opponents home and away at least once during the four-year cycle. The structure was adopted by the league’s athletic directors and faculty athletic representatives Tuesday.

The new schedule will eliminate the Atlantic and Coastal divisions with all 14 schools competing in one division beginning in 2023, according to ACC. The top two teams based on conference winning percentage will compete in the Subway ACC Football Championship Game on the first Saturday in December at Bank of America Stadium in Charlotte, North Carolina.

In May, the NCAA Division I Council approved the deregulation of the current rule that had limited an individual conference’s autonomy to determine its football championship game participants.

“The future ACC football scheduling model provides significant enhancements for our schools and conference, with the most important being our student-athletes having the opportunity to play every school both home and away over a four-year period,” said ACC Commissioner Jim Phillips, Ph.D. “We appreciate the thoughtful discussions within our membership, including the head football coaches and athletic directors. In the end, it was clear this model is in the best interest of our student-athletes, programs and fans, at this time.”

A special one-hour edition of The Huddle will air on ACC Network June 28 at 7 p.m. to discuss the new scheduling format.

The three primary partners for each ACC team are as follows:

Boston College: Miami, Pitt, Syracuse

Clemson: Florida State, Georgia Tech, NC State

Duke: North Carolina, NC State, Wake Forest

Florida State: Clemson, Miami, Syracuse

Georgia Tech: Clemson, Louisville, Wake Forest

Louisville: Georgia Tech, Miami, Virginia

Miami: Boston College, Florida State, Louisville

North Carolina: Duke, NC State, Virginia

NC State: Clemson, Duke, North Carolina

Pitt: Boston College, Syracuse, Virginia Tech

Syracuse: Boston College, Florida State, Pitt

Virginia: Louisville, North Carolina, Virginia Tech

Virginia Tech: Pitt, Virginia, Wake Forest

Wake Forest: Duke, Georgia Tech, Virginia Tech

Click here for the full schedules for 2023-2026.

Copyright 2022 WDBJ. All rights reserved.