Medal of Honor recipient "Woody" Williams to flip coin at Super - WVVA TV Bluefield Beckley WV News, Weather and Sports

Medal of Honor recipient "Woody" Williams to flip coin at Super Bowl

(WVVA) -

World War II hero and West Virginia native Hershel Woodrow "Woody" Williams will flip the coin at Super Bowl LII.

Williams will join 15 Medal of Honor recipients at U.S. Bank Stadium in Minneapolis as the Philadelphia Eagles take on the New England Patriots.

The NFL is proud to honor our Nation's heroes at Super Bowl LII," said NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell. "These courageous individuals deserve to be recognized on America's biggest stage. We are grateful for their service to our country and we are pleased to continue the NFL's longstanding tradition of hosting special tributes to service members at the Super Bowl."

The coin toss will be televised live on WVVA, an NBC affiliate, on Sunday, February 4.

Below is the list of the Medal of Honor recipients participating in the coin toss:

  1. Bennie Adkins: Army, Vietnam (award delayed 9/15/2014)
  2. Don Ballard: Navy, Vietnam (awarded 5/14/1970)
  3. Sammy Davis: Army, Vietnam (awarded 11/18/1967)
  4. Roger Donlon: Army, Vietnam (awarded 12/5/1964)
  5. Sal Giunta: Army, Afghanistan (awarded 11/16/2010)
  6. Flo Groberg: Army, Afghanistan (awarded 11/12/2015)
  7. Tom Kelley: Navy, Vietnam (awarded 5/17/1969)
  8. Allan Kellogg: Marines, Vietnam (awarded 10/15/1973)
  9. Gary Littrell: Army, Vietnam (awarded 10/15/1973)
  10. Walter Marm: Army, Vietnam (awarded 12/19/1966)
  11. Robert Patterson: Army, Vietnam (awarded 10/10/1969)
  12. Leroy Petry: Army, Afghanistan (awarded 7/12/2011)
  13. Clint Romesha: Army, Afghanistan (awarded 2/11/2013)
  14. James Taylor: Army, Vietnam (awarded 11/19/1968)
  15. Woody Williams: Marines, WWII (awarded 10/5/1945)

Hershel "Woody" Williams received the Medal of Honor for his actions during the Battle of Iwo Jima. 

Powered by Frankly