WATCH: AG Patrick Morrisey discusses EPA lawsuit and the state's - WVVA TV Bluefield Beckley WV News, Weather and Sports

WATCH: AG Patrick Morrisey discusses EPA lawsuit and the state's concealed carry agreement with VA


(WVVA) West Virginia Attorney General Patrick Morrisey stopped  by WVVA on Wednesday to discuss the continued fight against the EPA's Clean Power Plan. 

Morrisey also discussed  the continued reciprocity agreement with the Commonwealth of Virginia over concealed weapons permits. He is concerned other states may follow suit. Watch the full interview above.

NEWS RELEASE (West  Virginia Attorney General's Office)

CHARLESTON — West Virginia Attorney General Patrick Morrisey announces that West Virginia will continue to have full concealed carry handgun reciprocity with Virginia. Citizens’ concealed handgun licenses issued by either state are still recognized by the other.
“It is a priority of my office to protect the Second Amendment rights of West Virginians and those who visit our state,” Attorney General Morrisey said. “We have worked hard to preserve this agreement and we hope it remains intact for many years to come.”
This week, the Attorney General of Virginia announced the decision to revoke 25 states’ reciprocity agreements, citing that their concealed weapon laws don’t meet Virginia’s standards. However, Virginia has chosen to maintain its reciprocity agreement with West Virginia.
This change has no effect on concealed carry permit holders in West Virginia. The two states continue to maintain a mutual reciprocity agreement.
West Virginia has full reciprocity agreements with 32 states: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, and Wyoming.
West Virginians with a valid concealed handgun license may also legally carry in 5 other states, subject to the limitations of each particular state’s laws: Indiana, Montana, Nebraska, Vermont, and Wisconsin.

Powered by Frankly