Tazewell County Science Fair winners are... - WVVA TV Bluefield Beckley WV News, Weather and Sports

Tazewell County Science Fair winners are...

TAZEWELL COUNTY (NEWS RELEASE) - The Tazewell County Science Fair was hosted at Southwest Virginia Community College on February 21, 2014. Students from the area middle and high schools as well as Tazewell County Career and Technical Center showed off their best and brightest in the science field.
Taking top honors for the county in the high school division in the physical sciences category was Garrett Hale, Haley Roark and Casey Jones representing Tazewell County Career and Technical Center with their project "Orbital Microwave Plate." This makes the first time that TCCTC has participated in the event.
Taking the top prize for the biological sciences division was Griffin McAvoy and his project, "A demographic analysis of perceptions of coal-related pollution among inhabitants of a coal rich environment."
In the Middle School division taking the top prize in eighth grade physical science was Conor Sparling and his project entitled, "How to improve a truck's aerodynamics." In eighth grade life science category, Alexis Bales, "Bacteria: Canine vs. Human" took home first place. Both Sparling and Bales represented Richlands Middle School.
In the seventh grade categories, Graham Middle School's Gabriel Money took home first place in the category of physical science. Money's project was entitled, "Photoelectric effect." In the life science category, Sara Rinehardt from Richlands Middle School won first place with "Is energy worth the risk?"
Finally, in the sixth grade category of physical science first place was awarded as a tie for Matthew Blankenship's "Dying Wool" from Tazewell Middle School and Isabel Gilbert's "Basic Water: pH testing of a creek, lake, and river." In the life science, first place was awarded to Aleah Holmes from Richlands Middle School with "How Clean is your Mouth?"
Next year the host of the county wide Science Fair will be Tazewell Middle School. A complete list of the winners can be found below.
High School Projects:

Biological Sciences
1st Place – Griffin McAvoy – THS
2nd Place – Alex Bandy – RHS
3rd Place – Canaan Addison, Taylor Ratliff – RHS
Honorable Mention – Matthew Ball, Mark Sahyouni, Kyle Stiltner – RHS
Honorable Mention – Chase Collins, Grant Herndon, Luke Phillips – RHS
Physical Sciences
1st Place – Garrett Hale, Haley Roark, Casey Jones – TCCTC
2nd Place – John Luke Asbury, Peyton Simmons – RHS
3rd Place – Scotty Ball, Ethan Ratliff - RHS
Middle School Projects:
8th Grade Physical Science                                                            
1st  Place – Conor Sparling – RMS                                               
2nd Place – Gabbi Jackson – GMS                                               
3rd Place – Josh Daniels – RMS
Honorable Mention – Cameron Davis – RMS

8th Grade Life Science
1st Place – Alexis Bales - RMS
2nd Place – Katherine Franklin - GMS
7th Grade Physical Science                                                            
1st Place – Gabriel Money – GMS                                              
2nd Place – Shivam Patel – GMS                                                 
3rd Place – Hannah Little – RMS                                                  
Honorable Mention – Preston Nipper –GMS                      
Honorable Mention – Dayna Lafferty – TMS

7th Grade Life Science
1st Place – Sara Rinehardt – RMS
2nd Place – Breanna Herald – TMS
3rd Place – Anna Nimmo – RMS
Honorable Mention – Samantha Ferrell – RMS
6th Grade Physical Science                                                            
1st Place – Matthew Blankenship – TMS                                 
1st Place – Isabel Gilbert – RMS                                                  
2nd Place – Luke Martin – RMS                                                    
3rd Place – Carson Noel – TMS
Honorable Mention – Carson Richardson – RMS
Honorable Mentions – Ashlyn Vogel - TMS

6th Grade Life Science
1st Place – Aleah Holmes – RMS
2nd Place – Jacob Puckett – RMS
3rd Place – Robert Coleman – RMS
Powered by Frankly