Manchin announces service academy nominations - WVVA TV Bluefield Beckley WV News, Weather and Sports

Manchin announces service academy nominations

Charleston, W.Va. – U.S. Senator Joe Manchin (D-W.Va.) announced today that he will nominate 45 West Virginia students to the U.S. service academies, which include the U.S. Air Force Academy in Colorado Springs, the U.S. Military Academy at West Point, the U.S. Naval Academy in Annapolis, and the Merchant Marine Academy in Kings Point.
"West Virginia has built a reputation of service and sacrifice, and I am extremely proud of these students for their commitment to carrying on our state's proud tradition. These bright, young leaders have worked hard in the classroom and in the community to earn these nominations, and it is with great honor that I recommend their talents to the U.S. service academies. I am confident that these young men and women will make our state proud and I wish them the best in their future endeavors."
The students are from the following counties: Berkeley, Brooke, Hancock, Hardy, Harrison, Jackson, Jefferson, Kanawha, Marion, Marshall, Monroe, Ohio, Preston, Putnam, Raleigh, Randolph, Wood and Wyoming.
Senator Manchin is recommending the following students to the service academies. Final admission is determined by the respective academy.
Air Force Academy
Danny Arndt, Musselman High School
Alex Baumgartner, Parkersburg High School
Sterling Fitzwater, New Mexico Military Institute (from Fairmont, WV)
Elizabeth Gramling, Woodrow Wilson High School
Stephen Hott, East Hardy High School
Emma Lindberg, Jefferson High School
Andrew Milliron, Jefferson High School
Simon Sneeringer, Winfield High School
Erik Socks, Hedgesville High School
Anya Wallace, Jefferson High School
Military Academy at West Point
Jessica Ballard, Jefferson High School
Cayla Collett, Elkins High School
Jim Doukas, Bridgeport High School
Emma Hanna, George Washington High School
Leo Kullman, Moffatt County High School (mother stationed in Colorado), from Clarksburg, WV
Katie Martin, Washington High School
Devan Mynes, Oak Glen High School
Keegan Patrick, Winfield High School
Daniel Updegraff, Preston County High School
Stephen White, Weir High School
Naval Academy
John Bolton, Parkersburg High School
Adam Church, Hedgesville High School
Casey Densmore, Musselman High School
Adam Huffman, George Washington High School
Preston Jones, James Monroe High School
Chris Kay, George Washington High School
Tyler Kenney, Elkins High School
James Lagos-Antonakos, Shady Spring High School
Joey Lupardus, Wyoming East High School
Ian MacLeod, Washington High School
Luke Miller, The Linsly School
Austin Odgen, Jefferson High School
Jacob Payne, Poca High School
Alex Reiser, Musselman High School
Marshall Sharp, Capital High School
Dustin Smith, Home School, (from Kearneysville, WV)
Nathan Tucker, Ripley High School
Gearick Watt, Williamstown High School
Forrest Welsh, Old Dominion University (from Glen Dale, WV)
Mason Winkie, Wesleyan College (from Bridgeport, WV)
Merchant Marine Academy
Zach Abbott, Bridgeport High School
Travis Brown, Madonna High School
Jacob Matthews, Buffalo High School
Josh Miller, Marshall University
Abe Strickler, Heritage Academy

Powered by Frankly