Area students recognized as 'Ambassadors for Justice' - WVVA TV Bluefield Beckley WV News, Weather and Sports

Area students recognized as 'Ambassadors for Justice'


CHARLESTON, W.Va. – United States Attorney Booth Goodwin today recognized 56 high school juniors as U.S. Attorney's Ambassadors for Justice during an afternoon ceremony at the Culture Center in Charleston.  The U.S. Attorney's Ambassadors for Justice program is an initiative led by the U.S. Attorney's Office for the Southern District of West Virginia. It honors high school juniors who have shown outstanding leadership skills and a commitment to social justice. 

Today's ceremony marked the second time U.S. Attorney Goodwin has recognized young leaders from high schools in the Southern District of West Virginia as Ambassadors for Justice.    

"I am very pleased to honor the second class of high school juniors from throughout the Southern District as my Ambassadors for Justice," U.S. Attorney Goodwin said.  "These 56 students have each demonstrated a powerful ethical compass.  They've exemplified tremendous leadership." 

Goodwin continued, "Their ideas and perspectives are invaluable.  These are students who are willing to step forward and do something if one of their peers makes a self-destructive decision or bullies someone else."

Goodwin said that his office is deeply concerned about problems facing young people in his district.  "This isn't just an award or a title. This is an ongoing mission for me, my office, our schools, our communities, and for each of these Ambassadors for Justice, so that together we can exert positive influences in our schools and communities," said Goodwin.

The U.S. Attorney's Ambassadors for Justice program was created by U.S. Attorney Goodwin last year in response to rising school bullying and social media threats involving young people.  The program was also spurred by a February 2012 school shooting at Chardon High School in Chardon, Ohio, in which a student opened fire on his classmates, killing three and wounding two others. Other episodes involving planned violent attacks by young people that were prevented due to the swift actions of students and school Prevention Resource Officers here in the Southern District of West Virginia have also encouraged U.S. Attorney Goodwin's initiative.   

Nominations to be U.S. Attorney's Ambassadors for Justice are made by school principals and administrative leaders.  Goodwin said that outstanding character, devotion to citizenship, and a commitment to serving others are fundamentals for nomination.  This year, 56 out of 59 high schools in the 23-county Southern District of West Virginia nominated outstanding students to be Ambassadors for Justice.    

The 2013 U.S. Attorney's Ambassadors for Justice are as follows (by student name/high school/county): 

Boone County

Sydney Burdette, Sherman High School (Boone Co.)

Haleigh Foxx, Van Jr./Sr. High School (Boone)  

Kendyl Ryan, Scott High School (Boone Co.)     


Cabell County

Anthony Jaime, Huntington High School (Cabell Co.)      

Jaime Schussler, Cabell Midland High School (Cabell Co.)       


Clay County

Elizabeth Remias, Clay County High School       (Clay Co.)     


Fayette County

Bradley Higginbotham, Valley High School (Fayette Co.)  

Jonathan Hildebrand, Midland Trail High School (Fayette Co.)    

Felicia Pomeroy, Meadow Bridge High School (Fayette Co.)

Hali Zink, Oak Hill High School (Fayette Co.)          


Greenbrier County

Taylor  Gilkeson, Greenbrier West High School (Greenbrier Co.) 

Heather Vallandingham, Greenbrier East High School (Greenbrier Co.)    


Jackson County

Talia Martinez, Ravenswood High School (Jackson Co.)

Nathan Tucker, Ripley High School (Jackson Co.)


Kanawha County

Hunter  Chandler, Herbert Hoover High School (Kanawha Co.)      

Camden Elliott, George Washington High School (Kanawha Co.)    

Matt Jarvis, Nitro High School (Kanawha Co.)

Dakota Kelly, St. Albans High School (Kanawha Co.)              

Morgan King, Capital High School (Kanawha Co.)

Derek Nelson, South Charleston High School (Kanawha Co.)        

Cody Taylor, Sissonville High School (Kanawha Co.)      


Logan County

Joey Buchanon, Man High School (Logan Co.)     

McGinnis Dalton, Logan Senior High School (Logan Co.)  


Lincoln County

Logan Miller, Lincoln County High School (Lincoln Co.) 


Mason County

Ayla Edwards, Point Pleasant Jr./Sr. High School Point (Mason Co.)     

Wynston Lloyd, Hannan Jr./Sr. High School (Mason Co.)

Paige Stanhope, Wahama Jr./Sr. High School (Mason Co.)         


McDowell County

Ryan Blankenship, River View High School (McDowell Co.)


Mercer County

Vaughn Campbell, Pike View High School (Mercer Co.)

Will Hickman, Princeton Senior High School (Mercer Co.)         

Molly Lovern, Bluefield High School (Mercer Co.)

Robert Punturi III, Montcalm High School (Mercer Co.)  


Mingo County

Julius Hatcher, Mingo Central High School (Mingo Co.)

David   Runyon, Tug Valley High School (Mingo Co.)              


Monroe County

Elliott Judy, James Monroe High School (Monroe Co.)     


Nicholas County

Jesse Borrell, Nicholas County High School (Nicholas Co.)      

Benjamin Weber, Richwood High School (Nicholas Co.)    


Putnam County

Cory Hoshor, Buffalo High School (Putnam Co.)

Carla Haikal, Winfield High School (Putnam Co.)        

Sarah Lawrence, Hurricane High School (Putnam Co.)

Kyle McClanahan, Poca High School (Putnam Co.)  


Raleigh County

Adam Pack, Independence High School (Raleigh Co.)

Luke Stover, Liberty High School (Raleigh Co.)  

McKenna Williamson, Shady Spring High School (Raleigh Co.)

Aniket  Zinzuwadia, Woodrow Wilson High School (Raleigh Co.)           


Roane County

Kennedy Roberts, Roane County High School (Roane Co.)  


Summers County

Lindsay Ryan, Summers County High School (Summers Co.)  


Wayne County

Payton  Fetty, Wayne High School (Wayne Co.)   

Kristen Griffith, Tolsia High School (Wayne Co.) 

Meredith Hall, Spring Valley High School (Wayne Co.)    


Wirt County

Leah Haines, Wirt County High School (Wirt Co.)


Wood County

Shalin Gandhi, Parkersburg High School (Wood Co.)


Allison Walker, Parkersburg South High School (Wood Co.)


Matthew Zlatkind, Williamstown High School (Wood Co.)  



Wyoming County


Anna Davis, Westside High School (Wyoming Co.)


Savannah Lusk, Wyoming East High School (Wyoming Co.)   


Powered by Frankly