West Liberty University Students Receive Dental Society Scholars - WVVA TV Bluefield Beckley WV News, Weather and Sports

West Liberty University Students Receive Dental Society Scholarships


WEST LIBERTY, W.Va., April 8, 2013 – West Liberty University students Neva Ambrose, Chester, W.Va., and Rachel Knutsen, Weirton, W.Va., have been selected for Wheeling District Dental Society Awards, presented by Dr. Jeremy Crow, DDS, president of the dental society.

The $500 scholarships are annually awarded to first or second year dental hygiene students.

"Both students are excellent examples of the quality of students that West Liberty dental hygiene program has educated for nearly 75 years. We are grateful to the Wheeling District Dental Society for its ongoing support of our students and our program," said Margaret Six, program director and herself a graduate of the WLU's dental hygiene bachelor's degree program.

The Wheeling District Dental Society Award is based upon financial need, academics and community involvement. Students also must reside in Marshall, Ohio, Brooke, or Hancock counties, W.Va.

The Sarah Whitaker Glass School of Dental Hygiene at West Liberty University was established in 1938 and graduated its first class in 1940. Accredited by the American Dental Association (ADA) Commission
on Dental Accreditation, it offers both the Associate of Science and Bachelor of Science degrees to students.

The school of dental hygiene will move to the Campbell Hall of Health Sciences, now in construction, once it is ready for occupancy. For more information on WLU's dental hygiene programs, please contact Six at 304-336-8633 or sixmj@westliberty.edu.

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WVVA.
All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Administrative Assistant Audrey Sluss at (304) 324-0659. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at fccinfo@fcc.gov.