McDonnell names members of Va Rural Jobs Council - WVVA TV Bluefield Beckley WV News, Weather and Sports

McDonnell names members of Va Rural Jobs Council


RICHMOND, Va. (AP) -- A council created by Gov. Bob McDonnell is continuing efforts to focus on creating jobs in Virginia's rural communities.

McDonnell named state lawmakers, as well as leaders in the business, manufacturing, agriculture and health care industries as members of the Rural Jobs Council. Lt. Gov. Bill Bolling will chair the council, and Secretary of Commerce and Trade Jim Cheng and Agriculture Secretary Todd Haymore will serve as co-vice chairs.

Officials say the group will make recommendations to address the challenges to economic growth in rural Virginia and develop a statewide rural infrastructure plan that addresses transportation, education, and community development. It will build upon the work done by the governor's Commission on Job Creation and Economic Development.

Members of the Governor's Rural Jobs Council

  • Shannon Blevins, Director of Economic Development, UVA at Wise, Wise County
  • David Brash, Senior Vice President of Business Development and Rural Strategy, Wellmont Health System, Lebanon
  • Delegate Kathy Byron, Lynchburg
  • Elizabeth Crowther, President, Rappahannock Community College, Saluda
  • Katie Frazier, President, Virginia Agribusiness Council, Richmond
  • Timothy Heydon, CEO, Shenandoah Growers, Harrisonburg
  • Rebecca Hough, Co-Founder and CEO, Evatran, Wytheville
  • Thomas Hudson, President, Virginia Coal Association, Richmond
  • Delegate Danny Marshall, Danville
  • Ned Massee, Chairman, Virginia Chamber of Commerce, Richmond
  • Delegate Don Merricks, Martinsville
  • Martha Moore, Vice President for Government Affairs, Virginia Farm Bureau Federation, Richmond
  • Delegate Israel O'Quinn, Abingdon
  • Bill Parr, Parr Properties, Cape Charles
  • Senator Phil Puckett, Tazewell
  • Delegate Margaret Ransone, Kinsale
  • Nicole Riley, State Director, National Federation of Independent Business, Richmond
  • Senator Frank Ruff, Clarksville
  • Brett Vassey, President and CEO, Virginia Manufacturers Association, Richmond
  • William Wampler, Executive Director, New College Institute, Martinsville
  • Delegate Onzlee Ware, Roanoke
Powered by Frankly