Concord University's previous Groundhog Watchers - WVVA TV Bluefield Beckley WV News, Weather and Sports

Concord University's previous Groundhog Watchers


(WVVA) - Lou Stoker joins a distinguished list of community and state leaders who have served as Concord University's Grand Groundhog Watcher. Following is the complete list, by year:


2013, Ms. Lou Stoker

Volunteer, playwright, actress, community leader

2012, Mr. Pete Ballard

Artist, educator, Concord alumnus

2011, Mr. Scott A. Martin

Film industry personality – actor, director, producer, started Sorry Dog Productions in 1998

2010, Ms. Beverly Wellman

Executive Director, Retired, Mercer County Convention & Visitors Bureau

2009, Gen. Robert H. "Doc" Foglesong, USAF (Ret.)

United States Air Force General (Retired); Executive Director, Appalachian Leadership and Education Foundation (ALEF)

2008, Mr. Everett Lilly (deceased)

West Virginia bluegrass artist and inductee into the International Bluegrass Music Association's Hall of Honor

2007, Ms. Barbara Hawkins

Political correspondent, columnist, investigative reporter

2006, Ms. Kate Long

Writer, bluegrass musician

2005, Mr. Hershel Woodrow "Woody" Williams

Congressional Medal of Honor recipient

2004, Dr. Ancella Bickley

West Virginian and African American educator, historian and author

2003, Dr. Jay Banks

Retired physician and author, lives in Union, W.Va., with his wife, "Marty"

2002, Dr. J. Douglas Machesney

Concord's Vice President for Development from 1986 through 2002

2001, Mr. Andy Ridenour, Mr. Larry Groce

Ridenour is originally from Washington, D.C.; Groce is originally from Texas; and both are with West Virginia Public Radio

2000, Mr. Andrew Paterno

President and Chief Executive Officer of Acordia Mid-Atlantic, a Concord alumnus and Kanawha County native

1999, Mr. Jerry Jarrell

Retired Director of the National Hurricane Center, a Concord alumnus and Raleigh County native

1998, Recent Concord Retirees

Harold Bailey, John Seago, Paul Morgan (deceased), Bill Ryan, Bill Wells, Beryle Santon (deceased), Violet Martin (deceased), Kevin O'Sullivan, Ed Lowe, Dale Geiger, Carl Chapman, Shelva Rarick, Bernard Kiernan (deceased), Karl Fezer, Kenneth Baker

1997, Dr. J. Elliott Blaydes, Jr.

Retired Bluefield eye specialist and philanthropist

1996, Mr. Frankie Ferrante (deceased)

Owned Mercer County restaurant, Frankie's La Salute, and was an active civic and community leader

1995, Mr. Thomas Conlin

Former West Virginia Symphony Artistic Director and Conductor

1994, Ms. Denise Giardina

McDowell County native, successful novelist focusing on the vibrant culture of the coalfields

1993, Ms. Katharine Tierney (deceased)

Bluefield civic leader and longtime friend of Concord

1992, Ms. Jean Battlo

Published poet and playwright from McDowell County

1991, Ms. Nelrose Richards Price (deceased)

Retired Registrar of Concord, 41 years of service

1990, Dr. James Bailey (deceased)

Co-founder of Veterinary Associates of Princeton and a Mercer County civic leader

1989, Reverend Harry Christie (deceased)

Former pastor of Princeton Presbyterian Church

1988, Mr. R. T. Hill (deceased)

Father of the Concord Groundhog Day Breakfast and former Professor of Geography at Concord

1987, Mr. Edward J. Cabbell

Appalachian scholar, founder of the John Henry Foundation

1986, Mr. Ken Hechler

Former W.Va. Secretary of State and former Congressman

1985, George A. Daugherty

"The Earl of Elkview," a prominent Charleston attorney

1984, Dr. Charles Kenneth Sullivan

Executive Director of the West Virginia Humanities Council

1983, Mr. James Dent (deceased)

Humor columnist and cartoonist for The Charleston Gazette

1982, Mr. Don West (deceased)

Director of the Appalachian South Folklife Center, Pipestem, W.Va.

1981, Dr. E. Meade McNeill (deceased)

Professor of Biology at Concord

1980, Ms. Shirley Donnelly (deceased)

Historian and columnist for Beckley Newspapers, Inc.

1979, Mr. Jim Comstock (deceased)

Editor of The West Virginia Hillbilly

1978, Mr. A. James Manchin (deceased)

Former Secretary of State and State Treasurer of West Virginia

Powered by Frankly