UPDATE: W.Va. Senate, House re-elect top leaders - WVVA TV Bluefield Beckley WV News, Weather and Sports

UPDATE: W.Va. Senate, House re-elect top leaders


CHARLESTON, W.Va. (AP) -- The West Virginia Legislature is sticking with its top leaders in the House and Senate for the next two years.

Senators re-elected President Jeff Kessler of Marshall County on Wednesday, while House Speaker Rick Thompson of Wayne County was voted to a fourth term at that post.

Voters gave Republicans 11 more seats in the House. That increased their ranks to 46 of 100 delegates.

The GOP picked up three Senate seats. Democrats still hold 25 of 34 spots there.

Each body also elected the non-member officers of clerk, doorkeeper and sergeant-at-arms. Lawmakers were then to accept election results from the state-level races before recessing until Feb. 13. Their regular 60-day session begins then with Gov. Earl Ray Tomblin delivering his proposed budget and State of the State address.

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WVVA.
All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Administrative Assistant Audrey Sluss at (304) 324-0659. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at fccinfo@fcc.gov.