Two finalists named in New River Presidential search - WVVA TV Bluefield Beckley WV News, Weather and Sports

Two finalists named in New River Presidential search

Beckley, W. Va.:  After an extensive national search, the New River Community and Technical College Board of Governors has selected two finalists for the presidency of the college from a rich pool of candidates from throughout the state, region and nation.  The announcement was made by Board Governors Chair Leslie Baker following a board meeting on Wednesday, Jan. 3.
The finalists are Dr. Debra Teachman, vice president for academic affairs at New Mexico University Alamagordo, and Dr. Marshall Washington, vice president of the Lancaster Campus of Harrisburg Area Community College in Pennsylvania.
"I would like to take this opportunity to thank the Presidential Search Committee for their dedication, their commitment and their hard work on behalf of New River," Baker said. 
Teachman previously served as interim CEO/president of New Mexico State University Alamogordo. She holds a doctorate in English literature from the University of California, Davis; a master's in English literature and a bachelor's degree in English from Northern Illinois University, DeKalb; and an associate of arts degree in library technology from Lewis and Clark Community College in Godfrey, Ill.
Washington previously served as vice president of student services at Kellogg Community College in Ohio.  He earned a doctorate in educational studies with a specialization in educational leadership and higher education from University of Nebraska-Lincoln; a master's degree in education from Winona State University in Minnesota; and a bachelor's degree in elementary education from Ohio Wesleyan University in Delaware, Ohio.
Each finalist will participate in open public forums on each of New River's campuses later in January.  The exact dates, times and locations of the forums will be announced soon.   The forums will be open to faculty, administrators, staff, students and the general public, and everyone is invited and encouraged to attend.  There will be a brief introduction of each candidate followed by a question and answer session. Comment forms will be given to all who attend and the completed comment forms will be collected at the end of each forum and given to the New River Board of Governors for review.
The successful candidate will replace Dr. Ted D. Spring, who left New River in early November to become president of Cape Fear Community College in Wilmington, N.C.  Dr. Merle Dempsey is serving as interim president of the college until the new president is hired. 
New River Community and Technical College serves nine counties in southeast and south central West Virginia from locations in Beckley, Lewisburg, Ghent, Princeton and Summersville.  Administrative offices are located in Beckley. 
Powered by Frankly