McDowell County - 2012 Primary recap - WVVA TV Bluefield Beckley WV News, Weather and Sports

McDowell County - 2012 Primary recap

WELCH (WVVA) - There's a new sheriff in town in McDowell County.

Martin West emerged from the field of challengers to take the victory with 2,197 votes. Current Chief Deputy Mark Shelton finished second with 1,279 and Kenneth Hicks came in third with 244.

The county's current sheriff, Danny Mitchell, was successful in his bid for one of three county magistrate nominations. Mitchell received 1,942 votes. The other two spots went to Steve Cox with 2,248 votes and Richard Vandyke with 1,676. John Vance was fourth with 1,368.

On the state level, Del. Clif Moore survived controversy surrounding a Nov. 2011 DUI and subsequent arrest for driving on a suspended license to hold on to his District 26 House of Delegates seat.

Moore held off a strong challenged from Ed Evans. Moore finished with 1,444 votes while Evans received 1,245. Edwin Vanover finished with 288.

District 26 overlaps a small section of Mercer County.

In other county races, incumbent Gordon Lambert retained his seat as County Commissioner, defeating Kendrick King 2,228 to 1,180.

Four nominations were up for grabs on the Board of Education. They went to Mike Calloway, 2,008; Georgia West, 1772; David Williams, 1,542; and Jimmy Copolo, 1,439.

On the national front, Texas inmate Keith Judd collected nearly as many votes as President Barack Obama on the Democratic ticket. Obama received 1,526 votes to Judd's 1,388.

View all of McDowell County's vote totals from the Secretary of State's Office


Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WVVA.
All Rights Reserved. For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Administrative Assistant Audrey Sluss at (304) 324-0659. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at